Kea enters the space of scholarly study and geography together with the other Greek islands with “Liber Insularum Archipelagi” a pioneering chartographic manuscript of the early 15th century which became a model for the isolaria that followed, such as those by B. dalli Sonetti (1485) and Β. Bordone (1547). Among other data, Bordone notes information on myths, the climate and the history of the island on his idiosyncratic maps. Like all similar works, the isolario of Antonio Millo (1582-91) is enriched by engravings already published in contemporary editions. Antonio marks perillous waters on the maps of his isolaria, and uses the place names found in contemporary portolani. Kea is also included in the isolario by G. Rosaccio (1578), a work influenced by earlier similar editions.
In Μ. Boschini’s edition, a small beautiful sample of Venetian engraving of the mid-17th century, the maps of Kea and other islands are accompanied by an explanatory text with historical and geographical information. The isolario of Fr. Piacenza (1688) includes superbly engraved maps and a wealth of material on the Aegean islands, Cyprus and the Peloponnese. Ol. Dapper’s edition (1688) a work with highly elaborate engravings which was based mainly on ancient Greek and Latin sources, portolani, isolaria, contemporary travel accounts and authoritative maps, includes a map of Kea, framed by decorative ships typical of Dapper's engravings.
J. Seller was the creator of the first detailed mapping of the Mediterranean coast, titled “English Pilot...” . First published in the 17th century, it was repeatedly reissued and continued to be used down to the 19th century (here in the 1771 edition). Seller's works established the use of the English language in maritime charts and greatly influenced later cartographic editions. It includes maps of the local shores.
In the invaluable edition of his journey, J. Pitton de Tournefort, who changed travellers' itineraries in the Aegean through his pioneering exploration, shows maps of the island, a view of the port, local flora and some antiquities. In the early 19th century, a map of the island and a view of Chora are included in the port index by J. Roux.
An early but thorough archaelogical research was conducted at Kea by P.Ol. Bröndsted, who published the outcomes of his investigation from 1826 to 1830. The illustrations which accompanied this edition include engravings of ancient inscriptions and coins, old maps from isolaria as well as a contemporary map of the island, plans and views of archaeological sites, antiquities and statues and also a monastery. This last subject, the ancient tower and the monastery, was copied in its entirety in A. Schweiger Lerchenfeld’s edition of the late 19th century, in spite of the fact that the tower had become partly dilapidated approximately thirty years before.
The wood engtavings, water colours and photographs (1935) transmit Fr. Perilla's love and enthusiasm for the Cyclades islands, as well as his artistic sensitivity.
Written by Ioli Vingopoulou